Home » Uncategorized » Homemade Tea And Healthy Snacks In 15 Minutes

Homemade Tea And Healthy Snacks In 15 Minutes

I never thought I’d value time more than I do now that I am a mother. Whether you are a stay at home mom or a working mom, there are just so many things that needs to be done!

I’m the type of mom who easily gets guilty when I give food that is not meant to nourish the body and just meant to fill the stomach. Sometimes, I’m just left with no choice because the restaurants around with healthy choices are expensive and out of our weekly budget or I failed to prepare food before leaving the house.

Because of this, I decided to be creative and purposely think of ways on how I can prepare healthy snacks with very little time. So here’s a healthy recipe that will only take 15 minutes of your precious time!

Ingredients:

3 Organic Bananas

3 Cups of Hot Water

1 Organic Corn/Purple Corn

1 Free Range and Organic Egg

1 Organic Carrot

Optional: Organic Cinnamon Powder

Procedure:

  1. Before anything else, place hot water in a cooking pot and put to boil.

 

The peels of regular bananas are full of pesticides. If you are not using organic bananas for this recipe, please remove its peel. When choosing bananas, you’d want to get the ones with lots of black spot or batik in tagalog instead of the smooth, evenly shaped and  perfectly yellow in color variety.

2. Wash the organic bananas in running water and cut its ends.

3. Do the same with the egg and corn, wash them in running water. I chopped the corn into three because my cooking pot is small but doing so is not necessary.

3. Once the water is already boiling, add the bananas and corn, notice that I included the corn husk? This will add flavor to your tea for later. I forgot to take a photo but this is also the perfect time to add in your carrots or whatever vegetable you have available. It can be broccoli or sweet potato. Whatever floats your boat really.

4. Close the pot with its lid and start putting your timer for 13 minutes.


5. After 5 minutes I remove the carrots and place them in a glass plate to cool. After 10 minutes, its the bananas turn then finally, the corn at 13 minutes. Include the 2 minutes preparation time (washing the produce and cutting the ends) that is a total of 15 minutes! Hooray! About the water used to boil everything, that will be you and your toddler’s tea. Walang tapon! Sprinkle cinnamon powder if you want to spike up your tea. Do not overdo it though or it might taste awful.

P.S. If you have more time to spare. i.e. You are so ready to dash out the door but hubby decided he’ll use the bathroom first or hubby is taking forever to get his stuff in his bag. Like seriously, who needs guidance and help? The toddler or the hubby? I. Am. Kidding. I won’t ask my husband to proof read this entry for obvious reasons. But just in case he gets to see this: “Hi Mahal! I love you!” ❤

As I was saying, if you happen to have 10 more minutes in your hands. You want to leave out about 2 inches of Banana and Corn Tea then boil the egg in it. 10 minutes for a well done yolk then shorter if you want the yolk to be a little bit runny. The egg which is is packed with good fats and high protein that aids in good eye sight and strong bones is now also infused with all the benefits of Banana and Corn Tea!

Speaking of which, the benefits of organic banana and organic corn tea are so plenty but I don’t want to bore you so I’m just going to share my personal reason on why I just love this combo. The banana tea helps me and Mori get a good night’s sleep. When she is sick I make sure that I make her drink about half a cup before I nurse her to bed. If you don’t like the taste of Chamomile Tea (popularly known for its natural ability to help you doze off) then give banana tea a try. Now adding the corn was an experiment! I didn’t see a recipe anywhere in the internet that you should add corn but there was a time wherein I was really in a hurry and since I am also making corn and steaming a few vegetables, I just tossed everything together and it turned out wonderful!

By the way, organic purple corn has more antioxidants than blueberries! I am so happy we have access to this kind of corn locally. Perfect snack (not sticky, easy to remove fallen bits from shirt or carpet) and adds so much flavor to a regular beef nilaga.

 

Lastly, since this post is inspired by our recent trip to Tokyo, I’ll include the other snacks that I brought with us! As you can see from the photo above, there is a ziplock bag with two biscuits, unsweetened coconut flakes and freeze dried fruits like mango, banana and edamame.

I find it essential to always have our glass bottle with us. I can order a smoothie or hot chocolate from Starbucks and have it placed here instead of their styro or a paper cup. It feels good in knowing that we are doing our part in trying to save the earth while being good to our body.

hlt-017_1z.jpg

I failed to take a photo of their respective packagings so I Googled them for you instead. These are not individually packed so you might want to to place them in ziplock bags to maintain freshness.

tiny_fruits_veggies_banana_mango___edamame-0-75

I love this brand! I hope they’ll stay true to their promise. It tastes really good too!

Placing them in small ziplock bags also gives me awareness on how much Mori had already consumed. I had a one bag per day policy. We did not have an access to a kitchen and these snacks are way better compared to what we can grab from a convenience store. It only lasted while we were in Tokyo. Now that we are home, we are back to me baking bread, homemade spreads and serving fresh fruits for snacks.

RESOURCES

Homegrown Organics – Organic Banana, Organic Corn and Organic Carrots.

Echo Store – Unsweetened Coconut Flakes that by the way, the birds also loved. HEHE!

Healthy Options – Egg, Biscuit and Freeze Dried Fruits.

Baobao Babies – Glass Bottle with Straw.

 

 

Leave a Reply

